Pre-Paddle Nutrition: Smoothies

Stand-Up Paddle Nutrition for quick and lasting energy.

I have a Monday to Friday job. Post work I become an ‘Evening ‘n Weekend Warrior’. To be able to paddle post-work I need some energy and something to fill me up so I don’t feel hungry. My favorite is a smoothie. Quick to prepare, digests easily, full of nutrients and easy to consume in the car on the way to the beach.

Here are my two favorites:

1. Almond Banana Expresso Smoothie.
In a blender mix
– one cup almond milk
– 1 cup water
– two shots of expresso
– one banana
– heaping tablespoon of almond butter
– scoop or two of protein powder
– one teaspoon of cocoa powder
– one teaspoon of maca powder (optional)

20130324-154645.jpg

2. Banana Berry Smoothie
In a blender mix
– one cup almond milk
– 1/2 cup water
– 1/2 cup berry juice (no sugar added)
– one cup of mixed berries
– one banana
– scoop or two of protein powder
– one teaspoon of cocoa powder

I frequently combine the above recipes into one delicious blend.

Cheers!

20130324-203124.jpg

Leave a Reply

